The Dominican Republic dominates the World

3320325794.jpgWith a 3-0 win over Puerto Rico the Dominican Republic clinched the WBC title and was crowned as the new World Champion. The Dominicans went 8-0 in the tournament dominating opponents with an extraordinary bullpen that posted a 25.2 scoreless inning streak behind closer Fernando Rodney (WBC record 7 saves), Pedro Strop (3-0), Kelvin Herrera, Octavio Dotel and Santiago Casilla. Those relievers combined for 28 scoreless innings! The Dominicans didn’t count on top-of-the-rotation starting pitchers, but got strong outings from lefty Wandy Rodriguez (1-0, 0.96 ERA in 2 starts) and Samuel Deduno (2-0, 0.69 in 3 starts), the winning pitcher against the U.S. & Puerto Rico in the final game. The offense was star-studded: Robinson Cano was named the WBC MVP after hitting .469 with 15 hits (tournament record), 4 doubles, 2 HRs and 6 RBIs; Jose Reyes (.314), Nelson Cruz (.303), Erick Aybar (.333), Miguel Tejada (.316), Carlos Santana & Hanley Ramirez (2 HRs apiece). The Dominican players showed class, passion and committment as anyone in the tournament. The winning on the field post game party it was a beautiful message to the world of baseball we’ll remember for a long time.


WBC Official Website

The Dominican Republic dominates the Worldultima modifica: 2013-03-20T11:20:00+01:00da 1411t745
Reposta per primo quest’articolo

Leave a Reply