Winter Leagues crowned their champs

caribe.jpgCarribean Series field is set. Here are the teams that reclaimed the championship in each main winter league.


Thanks to great performances in the finals by Braves’ farmhand 1B Barbaro Canizares and Royals’ righty Luis Mendoza, Obregon was awarded the title of the Mexican Pacific League. The Cuban Canizares hit .364 in the final seven games, with two doubles, a triple, two HRs and 8 RBI. His base percentage was .417 and slugging .818. Mendoza threw 14 innings without giving up an earned run. He was the first starting pitcher to win two games the final series since Pablo Ortega (2005-06). The last championship claimed by the Yaquis was in 2007/2008. VIDEO  Mex-Pac Leaders.pdf

Toros del Este won their second Dominican championship by sweeping 5-0 Estrellas. Jose Constanza hit .333 (5-15) and was the best hitter in the finals. On the mound, Fernando Abad & Aneury Rodriguez were effective, while veteran Julio Manon recorded 3 Sv. Lidom Leaders.pdf

In Puerto Rico, Caguas won the championship after ten years beating Ponce in seven games. Royals’ infielder Rey Navarro was named the Series MVP after hitting .426 (6-14) in six games. The Criollos team features veterans such as 2B Luis Figueroa, 1B Javier Valentin, OF Edgardo Baez and benefited from good performances in the post-season by pitchers Eddy Ramos, Joey Newby, Orlando Roman & Dylan Owen. PRBL Leaders.pdf

None of the bitter rivals Magallanes & Caracas advanced to the Venezuelan finals. Instead Caribes de Anzoategui claimed its first Venezuelan title by defeating Aragua in seven games. Reinforcement and new Mariner Luis A. Jimenez was the MVP after hitting three HRs in the series. VIDEO  LVBP Leaders.pdf

Winter Leagues crowned their champsultima modifica: 2011-02-02T19:28:00+01:00da 1411t745
Reposta per primo quest’articolo

Leave a Reply